2015 Statement

Loyal to its mission, the New York African Film Festival returns with the most thrilling and multifaceted annual selection of African films from the continent and the Diaspora to NYC audiences. Commemorating the “International Decade of People of African Descent,” this year’s lineup of 50 titles from 25 countries represents a unique opportunity to reflect on the ways in which African men and women have broken through borders with films and narratives that form part of the global imagination.

Displacement, emigration, and personal journeys rooted in economic and sociopolitical upheavals have shaped African cinema since its inception, and 50 years later, in a world defined by economic crisis, climate change, and burgeoning regional conflicts, these issues are more salient than ever.

The 22nd edition of the New York African Film Festival offers a selection of narrative features and documentaries that places special emphasis on the short format and digital technology, both of which have become conduits for new stories, sounds, and images by freeing their creators from budgetary and technical limitations.

Along with these contemporary offerings, the festival will feature Senegalese pioneer Safi Faye’s Mossane an international classic and milestone for African women filmmakers. Thanks to her achievements and those of others, the preeminence of female voices in the international scene can be seen in the broad range of women’s works this year.

The 22nd New York African Film Festival was organized by Dennis Lim, Director of Programming and Isa Cucinotta, Programmer, Film Society of Lincoln Center, and Mahen Bonetti, Founder and Executive Director, African Film Festival, Inc. with Alimah Boyd, Francoise Bouffault, Beatriz Leal Riesco, Hellura Lyle, and Steffan Horowitz.

Thanks are due to the AFF Board of Directors and Jane Aiello, Joan Baffour, Luca Bonetti, Rumbi Bwerinofa, Andreas Damm, Aminata Diop, Gabriele Donati, Jacki Fischer, Belynda Hardin, Ulli Maier, Karen McMullen, Ekwa Msangi, Dara Ojugbele, Muriel Placet-Kouassi, Prerana Reddy, Mohammed Sillah, Alonzo Speight, Toccarra Thomas, Malika Lee Whitney, Cheryl Duncan & Company Inc. Public Relations, Kojo Associates, and AFF’s volunteer team.